Animated

I thought I’d update this post to be a little more verbose. Original post can be found below the horizontal rule.

I’ve been getting to grips with vector graphics lately. The impetus for this is that my husband is creating an Android app and needs some UI elements. Check out his blog for pictures of some playing cards I designed.

Today I felt like I was on a roll, so I whipped up a quick animation or two to match the logo of his website: MakerGeek. Inserted below. Unfortunately WordPress doesn’t play animated GIFs, so you have to open them in their own tab to watch them spin.

Version1:

Version2:

Method:

All of this was done in Inkscape and GIMP. I do have Synfig Studio on this box, which would have done tweening for me, but I haven’t yet got comfortable with it. So I chose to create each individual frame in Inkscape. It’s a 2.5 second logo at 24 fps = 60 images. Because it’s a fairly simple animation I really only had to draw one picture and manipulate the colours and rotations of various elements to get the effect I wanted.

Once all 60 frames had been created I opened them as layers in GIMP and used the animation option in the ‘Save as GIF’ dialogue to transform the layered .xcf into an animated GIF. (Though magic with ffmpeg will get them into .avi or another more useful format.)

I’m pretty chuffed with the results and full of grandiose ideas for animations that I could make with this new-found method and enthusiasm – though I fear that a lack of skill and artistry may let these ambitious ideas down.

__________________________________________________________


My first crack at animation. Neither WordPress nor Facebook seem to want to display it in it Giffy glory, but if you right-click on it and open in a new tab it will play.

0 Responses to “Animated”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What I’ve been twittering

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I've been tagging...

What I've been taking pictures of...

IMG_6596

IMG_6595

IMG_6594

IMG_6592

IMG_6590

More Photos

RSS What I’ve been listening to…

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

