Another calico bag

Calico bag

I was quite pleased with the way my first set of calico bags turned out so when another birthday presented itself I thought I’d make another. This  bag is less wide than the earlier ones – though the same depth. The bag can fit an A4 box file in it so should be good for carrying folders and documents or a small grocery shop.

The area for decoration is smaller than on the earlier batch, but I filled about the same amount of space with the design but it didn’t look crowded. For the design I went for applique again. I’m getting better at using the machine’s blanket stitch to out line the shapes. The flowers are from the same templates that I drew up for the Sarah bag in the first batch.

I’d like to say that reuse of some design elements and practice made making this bag quicker than making the others but it still took all of a Sunday.

1 Response to “Another calico bag”


  1. 1 Melinda Guard September 1, 2010 at 5:35 am

    That would be a lovely gift to be received! With your name printed in one side of the bag, who would not enjoy it? And for the design, its simple yet very elegant.


Leave a Reply

What I’ve been twittering

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I've been tagging...

What I've been taking pictures of...

RSS What I’ve been listening to…

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

