Wimbledon

No 1 Court

No 1 Court

On Thursday I woke up ridiculously early (5.30) and caught the train to Wimbledon in order to queue for a grounds pass.

I had an awesome day.

In fact I hadn’t even needed to get up that early at all. The queue was only 467 people long when I joined it – I know that level of precision because when you join the end of the queue you get given a queue card with a number on, to discourage queue jumping. With Murray not playing and Centre Court tickets to the women’s not available at the gate there was less interest.

I met some lovely people in the queue, Ben from Canada, Joel from Bradford, and Katie and Ian from Wales. We chatted while we were waiting in the park and stuck together through security and through the turnstiles before going our separate ways.

I met up with my mum and my sister, who had gotten tickets in the ballot, on Henman Hill. We saw a seniors doubles match on Court 2. But then Mum, who wasn’t feeling well, left to go back to the hotel.

My sister and I had a nice day watching various doubles matches on Court 1 and then a bit of Venus Williams on the big screen from the hill. But the absolute highlight for me was, as ever, Mansour Bahrami and Henri Leconte playing doubles on Court 2 towards the end of the day.

Bahrami and Leconte are amazing and hilarious. They do almost as much playing the fool as playing tennis, And this year their opponents almost matched them in silly tricks. Necking glasses of champagne on the court, mock-bullying the umpire, holding the net down to let serves go by and various other tricks. They gave good value as always.

0 Responses to “Wimbledon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What I’ve been twittering

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I've been tagging...

What I've been taking pictures of...

RSS What I’ve been listening to…

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

