Isle of Wight Festival

IOW 2009Last weekend I went to my first festival: the Isle of Wight Festival. It was a weekend of many firsts, my first time on the IOW, my first time camping, my first meeting with portaloos – yuk.

I had a great time! Saw some good bands that I hadn’t previously heard of, saw some great bands that I had heard of but hadn’t previously rated, deliberately missed out on a bunch of bands that I thought were over-rated.

Camping was more fun than I expected and I got some really good night’s sleep in the tent. Obviously I need a harder mattress at home. The tent got way too hot in direct sunlight – I’d wake up fairly early in the morning, but it would be the tent getting ridiculously hot that drove me out. The only downside of the camping was the portaloos, I don’t think I could camp for more than a few days in a row. The weather was pretty good too – only one or two drops of rain. Not sure what camping in the rain would be like.

I spent way too much money on random crap: 2 maxi dresses and 4 pairs of stripey socks. I love stripey socks. So much buying occurred that I ran out of money on the first day. Then my card wouldn’t work in their ATMs, uh oh. I spent an evening collecting cups (10p each to return for recycling) in order to get enough money for food. I did succeed in getting enough money for some grub, but I was too tired by that time. A friend loaned me money to tide me over the rest of the festival.

The cups thing is a very cool idea. If you’re concerted about it there’s lots of money to be had. It’s a good earner for kids. During the day there were loads of kids filtering through the crowds collecting people’s finished cups. Sometimes you could see these kids coming by the bobbing towers of cups that were above head height – probably nearly a tenners worthof cups at that point. I personally was a fairly poor cup collector – making only £4.

Post-festival downside – I got a really bad sore throat the following week. Bad enough for serious mickey taking from my colleagues (I squeak when talking and bark when coughing on sore throat occasions). Unlike the other member of our group who came away with a sore throat I don’t even have the excuse of kissing randoms to account for the germs I caught.

Glad to be back at home with my cats and my fella, but I don’t think that this will be my last festival.

Leave a Reply

What I’ve been twittering

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I've been tagging...

What I've been taking pictures of...

IMG_6596

IMG_6595

IMG_6594

IMG_6592

IMG_6590

More Photos

RSS What I’ve been listening to…

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

