Cycling, Gardening

It’s been a quiet month on the blog. Mostly because I haven’t had much to talk about. Work’s been busy and the Easter holidays gave me a break from my course that I failed to use to get more sewing done.  What I have done recently is cycle and garden.

Cycling

I have a blind spot when it comes to bets, and dares – which are essentially the same thing but cheaper. So when a discussion with a colleague about health and fitness took an abrupt turn into him betting me that I couldn’t cycle to work three days a week for six weeks I had agreed to it before I’d even given it much thought. The prize is £10, which isn’t much when you consider that’s for thirty-six 7 mile stretches. I should have asked for more money – that would be more of an incentive not to just say “stuff it – I’ll pay a tenner to not cycle today cos it’s wet/I’m tired/I’m lazy”.

I got started last weekend. I chased around almost every Halfords in Hampshire to get the bike I wanted. A low end ‘town and trail’ bike, not one with super thin tyres – I feel too out of control on those types of tyre. Once I got the bike home I had a slow pedal around the alleyways to get used to being on a bike again. Despite it having been several years since I’ve cycled on a regular basis I quickly got back into the swing of it and back to a point where I was confident on main roads. Saturday I explored bits of Eastleigh I didn’t know very well and finding myself a back way up to the top of Otterbourne Hill – I think I was out on the bike for a couple of hours. On Sunday I did a dry run of cycling to work, but with no pressure and less traffic. I was knackered when I got to Hursley, but my knight-in-shining-car picked me up at the pub and drove me and the bike home.

I’ve managed he first week OK. The second day was hardest. I ached all over and it would have been really easy to go in the car, but I forced myself to cycle. I got to be proud of myself by the end of the week that I didn’t wuss out like I often do. Big downside is that my saddle region hurts like hell, and it gets worse every time I cycle. 😦

Gardening

We’ve been gradually making improvements to the garden. Last year Dan and I built decking at the top of the garden, this year we covered the rest with gravel and started buying pots and plants and seeds. We’ve got loads of herbs, chillis, strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, parsnip, beetroot, carrot, spring onion, tomato, rocket, pepper, and butternut squash. It’s so very cool to see things growing and changing every day, and it’s going to be even more cool to eat something we grew ourselves. I always remember the veg that my Dad grew on his allotment tasted so much better than the shop bought stuff.

2 Responses to “Cycling, Gardening”


  1. 1 Anne May 4, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    Well done – I am feeling a tad guilty for not doing any cycling to work in April at all. I may be seeing you en route soon though – I have to justify the 2 bicycles of mine in the shed. The saddle issue is not good you may find some improvement with one of the following:
    padded shorts (hmmm sexy? I think not)
    adjusting the tilt/position of the saddle
    your saddle may be too soft (come round for a cuppa if you like and my husband will bore you silly as to why)

    BTW your Easter holidays sound oh so familiar – not wanting to panic you but when is the end of year show? 😉

  2. 2 philomathickat May 5, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    ‘End of year show’ ??? Uh-oh. Terrie hasn’t mentioned it yet. I was hoping that I’d get away without having to display my stuff this year.
    So much of it has turned out not quite right, or not quite as imagined. And I’m way behind on my backup work.

    W.r.t saddle – my colleague (the other party to the bet) reckons I’ll toughen up shortly. Fingers crossed that will be the case. Definitely less battered today!


Leave a Reply

What I’ve been twittering

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

What I've been tagging...

What I've been taking pictures of...

RSS What I’ve been listening to…

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

