Project: Big Read

A friend just sent me links to the BBC’s Big Read top 200 best loved books. (1-100, 101-200).  This was the huge poll they did in 2003, asking people to vote for their favourite books. From the results they created this list.
My friend is using this list as a suggested reading list – he’s up to 140/200 read. As I’m always looking to find new things to read I thought I’d follow his example.
My starting point is that I’ve already read 78/200. Leaving me 122 to go. If I read about 1 a week I could finish by the end of 2010, but I doubt I’ll be able to keep that pace. This will be a task that takes me years! On the plus side there are quite a few kids books on the list, which I can usually read in a couple of hours (judging from my average time to read Artemis Fowl novels).
I’m going to start with Moby Dick, because I have owned it for so long and have never read it. Then move on to Winnie the Pooh, which was the only book in the Top 10 that I haven’t read. From there I’ll probably work through them in their ranked order as best I can.
I’m not looking forward to the lashings of Dickens on the list. I’ve read Oliver Twist and A Christmas Carol, and (I think – A Tale of Two Cities) but I can’t say that I really enjoyed any of them. But by far the most unhappy experience of this project will be when I’m called upon to read a book on the list which looks suspiciously like it’s about football.

Leave a Reply

What I’ve been twittering

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I've been tagging...

What I've been taking pictures of...

IMG_6596

IMG_6595

IMG_6594

IMG_6592

IMG_6590

More Photos

RSS What I’ve been listening to…

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

